It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2005, 12:20 PM   #1
(male)

CaseyS39 HB User
Please help! - my wife is cheating online

I just found this forum because I need help! I've discovered that my wife of nearly 15 years is cheating online. I don't think she's met the person yet, but I know he lives nearby, and I know she told him she would leave me for him! (I won't go into how I know this, but I'm a computer professional, and it wasn't hard to find out when I became suspicious) I have log files of chat conversations they've had!

I'm devastated, but I don't want to lose her! What should I do?!

Old 07-13-2005, 12:39 PM   #2
(female)

baskineer HB User
Re: Please help! - my wife is cheating online

Casey,

Maybe ask her questions that would hint that you know something, but don't disclose the extent of what you know. ("is there something you're not telling me about involving another man?") When she asks what you know, say, 'you tell me.' If she hesitates, fill in a little bit to indicate you know more than you originally implied, so she thinks it is to her benefit to tell you everything, possibly information you didn't already know. (like if they met.)

I would think if she lies about truths you know, these are indicators of whether trust can be regained. For instance, if she says, "I never told him I would leave you for him.. it was just a harmless curiosity." You know that she wants to hide from you what her intentions are.

Try to evaluate your feelings and what you're willing to do to save the relationship, but what you're not willing to do--what your boundaries are before approaching her. It seems like she should have some flicker of remorse and honesty if trust can ever be repaired.

And of course, you can explore counseling, etc.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-13-2005, 12:48 PM   #3
(male)