It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2005, 12:22 PM   #1
(male)

RegularGuy7 HB User
How should I take this...

My wife and I have been married for just over a year (we dated for 5 years) She's still in grad school and I've been working for the past 6 years. We have a pretty decent life as I make enough money by myself to pay the bills, go on the occasional vacation, etc. I love her with all my heart and I've never met anybody who is so "on the same wavelength" as me.

But the other day, actually it was our annversary, she tells me that she only married me because...and she shrugged her shoulders...she didn't have anywhere else to go and needed somebody to take care of her.

I just kind of laughed it off because I honestly thought she was joking. But the more I thought about it...why joke about that? Why even say that? And I find myself getting more and more confused / upset / and hurt by it. Am I just her "sugar daddy"? That seems odd considering we've been together for so long.

Don't get me wrong, I don't mind taking care of her. I never think of or treat her like she's mooching from me. But they way she said it made it sound like she only married me to have someplace to live.

I guess what I'm asking is...how should I handle this? Should I just drop it and move on or should I tell her something about it?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-17-2005, 12:49 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

Bell Jar HB User
Re: How should I take this...

Um, that's an odd thing to say to someone you're married to. Even if it's true, why say it at all?

There's no reason to bottle up these thoughts. Definitely discuss this with her and tell her how you feel.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-17-2005, 03:57 PM   #3

jenna1 HB User