It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-19-2006, 10:42 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

soulster HB User
need advice

I just would like to ask a question. I would like to know if it is unreasonable as a wife to ask your husband to buy a sofa set that is second hand but very beautiful... for 300 dollors including tax, shipping? My husband says I am being unreasonable because we already have a sofa set... but that sofa set is really old and they are two different pieces that dont match. he says it is practical and right now he wants to save money, becaue he is the only one working, making 50 grand a year- which is pretty good and i am studying for an exam after which I will be able to work as well. We dont have any kids, so we only have us two to budget in our expenses for. Its not as if I am asking for a thousand dollor sofa set, it is just 300 dollors and a very beautiful piece of furniture. I feel he is being uncaring of my needs and he feels I am being unreasonable, stubborn in wanting it. What do you guys think? Thanks.. Oh, we have just been married for one year.

Last edited by soulster; 08-19-2006 at 11:08 PM.

Old 08-20-2006, 01:24 AM   #2
(female)

CUCrusaders24 HB User
Re: old sofa set

Hmm...no, that doesn't sound unreasonable to me, especially if the sofa set you currently have is getting worn as you stated. Maybe he thinks there is something more practical that your money might be spent on, but either way I would talk with him about it. Maybe there are some underlying issues; he might think it is an impulse purchase perhaps? I have encountered people who have been uncomfortable with that sort of thing.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-20-2006, 12:27 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

soulster HB User