It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2006, 08:38 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

jozi209 HB User
Need Advice

hi,
i am in a life predicament and don't know who to talk to or what to do, and although it doesn't really have anything to do with relationships, i figured i can get some good advice here and brainstorm enough to maybe get some ideas.

i am at a crossroads in my life and i want to decide what to do because i am in a transition period and want to get out.

i have a degree in psychology and a full time job in elite property insurance. for almost a year after i graudated, i looked for a job in my field but found out that you cannot do anything with a BA in psych in Canada - not even get very good volunteer positions (for the ones i was interested in, you need to be 25 years old and/or have set hours which i couldn't do b/c i was in retail and couldn't make set hours, or i would lose shifts and not have money to pay rent). i worked for a bit in the travel industry but did not make enough/month to pay my rent/food (let alone any expenses on top of that) for one the month and so, naturally, i was in debt. to top it off, i was 22 and not highly responsible with money at that point, so up went my debt. i had to get three jobs and worked 90 hrs/week and went to school part-time to get under control. i did this for 7 months.

anyway, soon after i got the job in insurance and it pays well and has good perks. i was able to quit a job. i went on a budget, and am currently paying back student loans, my debt, and a highly expensive rent - but i literally live paycheck to paycheck and have an empty fridge many days out of the month. i stopped going to bars and don't go shopping, and don't have luxuries (like haircuts, fruit,etc). but i'm doing it. i work 60 hrs/week and take two courses.