It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2007, 03:03 PM   #1
(female)

goodgirl804 HB User
Question I think my boyfriend might be gay

So I think my boyfriend (bf) of six months might be gay. There is a lot of background info but it is all important, so please bear with me. I have a masters degree in clinical psychology and took courses about working with gay clients/couples, etc, but I am still at a loss in this situation. I have read many of the online message boards, threads, etc about situations like this as well. I have consulted friends of all sorts, including a very close friend who is gay. I’m hoping some completely unbiased feedback will help.

My bf and I met through an online dating service. When I met him, I was blown away by the immediate spark I felt. I had never experienced anything like it. He is very educated, handsome, successful, and well-spoken. He seemed so “perfect” that I was intimidated by him for the first few months we dated. I remember red flags from the beginning: he dressed very different from other guys I knew his age (late 20’s, very early 30’s). His apartment is decorated nicer than most girls’ apartments I’ve seen, including my own (candles everywhere, “girly” curtains and other decorations, pictures of famous actresses on the walls).

He has two Pomeranians. He sings along to pop songs that most guys wouldn’t even admit to liking. He sometimes talks in an exaggerated “gay” voice, which comes out the most when he has been drinking. I know that none of these things individually nor the sum of any of them “mean” that he’s gay, but they stuck out to me and my friends, leading us to half-jokingly call him metrosexual.