It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2007, 03:03 PM   #1
(female)

princessanna HB User
Step Kid

Hi Everyone, Newbie here.

Not sure if this is more suited for the parenting section but I feel it's more to do with my relationship.

I have been with my OH (other half) now for early 2 years. He has a 7 year old son from a previous relationship. I am 23 and he is 32.

I've always felt that going out with a parent could be problematic. I explained this to my OH at the time we met and he understood. He reassured me that as he does not live with his son, it should not affect our relationship. From his reassurance and the fact that I have never been with a father before, I took the plunge.

Now we are engaged.

To be honest, I've never really liked his son much and I do my utmost not to show it to his son. I have tried to be nice to the son and have shown and interest in the things he does but it does not come naturally to me. It just feels fake, a chore and ultimately, I am only being overly nice to the son for my OH. My OH knows how I feel, we communicate a lot and my OH appreciates my honesty.

I am deeply and desperately in love with my OH and could not bear to be without him.

I feel that the problem I face now is what will happen when we marry and buy a house together. His son will come round from time to time and stay over and ultimately, I don't not want to pay for his son.

I have felt in the past that his son was ''in the way'' and was a burden. I explained how I felt to OH and he understood it was hard for me just as I understand it is also hard for him.

So my real question is: Is it so wrong of me not to want an active role in his sons life? would it be fair to ask OH to contribute a little bit more as it is his son that stays over?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-27-2007, 03:33 PM   #2
Senior Veteran