It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2008, 08:47 AM   #1
(female)

cadburyschick HB User
I am feeling lost

I have a lot of things going on at the moment. So bare with me.
I am currently in my final year of my phd.

I am facing difficulties in my degree, but before I describe them, I
will first give you a run up of the events which I believe have
contributed to these difficulties I am facing. Some of you will already be aware.

A year ago, my boyfriend (now ex) and I broke up because of the violate
relationship we found ourselves to be in. For five months, from June
to October, we talked about getting back together and I exhausted
myself through doing this. He went travelling for a few months and contact ceased.

We had broken up before roughly a little more than two years ago previously, and I suffered from an intense yet short episode of depression. I was
referred to a cognitive therapy but by the time I had been to a see a
doctor, book appointments, wait for the sessions, I had started to
feel better after about four months. But the depression really terrified me, and really affected my performance at University. I told my head of year about my problems, and they have notes from my doctors detailed my depression in their records. So December last year, to help myself in case I got worse, I applied for counselling at my University. Eventually, I was
given sessions starting in February. These did not help in the
slightest. I have been counselling before, and it had helped a lot,
but these sessions didn't help. I was feeling low, wanted to talk
about how I felt, talk about my failed relationship and break up but
my counsellor dominated much of the talking, and directed the sessions
on the difference in cultures of my parents and how this has affected