It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2008, 08:41 AM   #1
(female)

Amethyst01 HB User
Having an affair and need to break away - need advise please

Hello All, I am newbie here and have never posted on any message board- and never thought I would- especially about something so personal. Just to be clear, I am not looking for someone to tell me what I want to hear, I am searching for strength to do the right thing. I feel guilt and humiliation surrounding my situation and don't feel comfortable confiding in anyone I am close with. I realize we are all human and even when we promise not to pass judgment, we all do. I certainly welcome any comments, good or bad, but I am simply hoping to gain some clarity and the kick in the butt I so desperately need. I apologize for the long post, but I want to provide enough information for you to understand how I came to the point I am now. If you can spare a few minutes to read it and offer a response, I would be very appreciative.

I am a divorced woman in my mid-thirties. I have been employed with my company for ten years now. I am one of about 90 employees who all work out of the same office. I have made many friends through my job, probably some of the closest in my life. In fact, we are all a very tight knit group, along with everyone’s wives, husbands, and significant others.

Well, I have now found myself tangled up in a torrid office affair. He is a very handsome man and about 8 years younger that me. The day he was hired and introduced to everyone, all of the women's mouths dropped. He is, without a doubt, the kind of man every girl dreams of. We developed a friendship right away, but it never extended beyond the office. He had a fiancé and brought her to all of our company parties and gatherings and she would sometimes meet us for happy hours after work.