It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2008, 04:12 PM   #1
(female)

Poopsie HB User
Unhappy Best friend has become toxic

This is regarding a 15+ year friendship. We used to get along great, but my best friend, “Nan,” and I are having problems. I am finding it difficult to be around her. She tries to one-up me in everything, and trivializes my accomplishments. No matter how badly my day may be going, hers is always worse. And when I graduated from college, she said “oh yeah, well I raked the yard all day.” She talks about herself incessantly, but never asks how I am.

She used to be one of my only friends, but now I have many. I know she is jealous of this, so I tried introducing her to them, so she would have more friends, and she was rude to them. If we go out (which is almost never at this point) she ditches me and goes home, because the lights are bothering her, someone stepped on her foot, or some other stupid reason. I am way too old for this nonsense, and I have had to take breaks from the relationship in the past. I have explained to her why, but it doesn’t seem to sink in that it is her attitude and behavior.

She has been through some very hard times, and I feel badly that if I go away, she will fall into depression. Also, I guess it is human nature to wish someone would change, which I have been wishing. This is affecting me badly, and just talking to her makes me feel mentally unwell. People notice my stress after I have spoken with her. Do I address her on this issue, yet again?? I don’t know what else to say that I haven't already, and I am sort of afraid to confront her in person.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-24-2008, 07:28 PM   #2
(female)

mysteryeggs HB User
Re: Best friend has become toxic