It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2008, 04:13 PM   #1
(female)

Poopsie HB User
Coworkers being rude/insulting me.Uncomfortable.

Well, I have an issue, that has been ongoing. It is really bothering me, and I don’t know what to do. It involves relationships with coworkers, and is having a negative effect on me.

See, I work as a temp, although it has been nearly 2 years now, at the same place. I eat my lunch at my desk, as do 95% of people here. I like to cook hot meals, otherwise I get too hungry and feel sick. There are times when I cook something “weird” at least to the people I work with who do not get out much, like curry, but then I wait until they have left for the day to cook it, because I know it smells strong. I am very mindful of that. I used to cook “normal” things, such as pasta or rice dishes (the frozen kind), and they would still hover over me, looking at my food, and making (mostly) rude comments about it. Like “what is that” and stuff. One girl says how disgusting my cold salad was because it had spinach leaves in it, and went on and on. She also made comments about how meats should never have fruit on it, like sauces and such. These same people make comments on everything that has a smell, not just mine, but mostly mine. I will add that I rarely ever notice what they are talking about.

Well, I got so self-concious of the remarks, that I now wait until they go home, even to cook so-called normal foods, which is around 3, in order to eat unbothered. I don’t think this is fair. I am starting to get withdrawn about eating here, but if I don’t, I will feel sick, and cannot afford to go out to eat.