It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2010, 03:57 PM   #1
(female)

alpinemeadow HB Useralpinemeadow HB Useralpinemeadow HB User
need help with an unusual relationship issue

Hi there,

I'll start out with my story and and then pose my question at the end....

I work in a hospital where I get the priviledge of taking care of medically ill babies and children. Approximately 15 years ago I started taking care of an extremely fragile baby boy with multiple life threatening issues. He was so sick that he spent probably the first year of his life with us. During this time his mother wasn't around that much. I spent many hours at his bedside administering supportive care and sometimes emergency care. When things were going better for him I would spend all of my extra time playing with him and rocking him. We bonded more strongly than I ever have with any of my other patients. Over the first few years of his life he was an inpatient much of the time. I continued caring for him very frequently for the first several years of his life.... Then thankfully he steadily improved and his visits became less and less. But I would still probably see him once or twice a year.

A few years have now passed, but he is in again, my little friend, and our bond is still just as strong. In fact, I could probably easily have adopted him, that's how I feel about him. I care about him like he is my own family, my own child. I care about his well being and his future. I miss him and wonder how he's doing.