It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2011, 03:45 PM   #1
Inactive
(female)

michelle716 HB User
What can I say to my boyfriend to make him feel better????

Hello,

My boyfriend and I moved into our own apartment 2 months ago. We both love having our own place. We are both 25. He works for a plumbing company full time, & I work full time as a receptionist until I go back to school in Sept. I'll be working 25 hours a week when I go back. We pay $1,000 a month for rent, including everything. We both split the rent $500/month, and we both contribute to groceries, etc. However, the last month my boyfriend has told me he thinks he's been acting like a jerk lately, & been depressed & sad because he never has any money on him. He does spend about 50$/week on weed. I don't have a problem with him smoking, it doesn't bother me, but 50 dollars a week can add up.

He works very hard, about 50-55 hours a week. It makes me feel bad that a lot of the time he feels like he has no money on him. He told me today, "I think I just get a sad feeling because to me, my money is our money, but I feel that your money is just for you." I said, "Well we aren't married, but we do live together, and if you need $ for something just let me know." I don't know what to say to him. Maybe he needs to put a little away each week for rent, instead of waiting until his last 2 paychecks to put his part of the $ together. If I give him some of my money, I'm going to want it back. I think this is what he means. If I don't have any cash on me and I ask him for 20 bucks, he won't ask for it back. But if he needs 20 bucks for something & I give it to him, I always want it back. What do you think I should say to him/advice I can give him for feeling the way he feels? Sad, & depressed.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-28-2011, 04:06 PM   #2
Senior Veteran