It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2011, 07:19 PM   #1
(female)

cjlora HB User
Was I wrong? (ultimatum to my bf)

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I have a very difficult situation on my hand that I just do not know if I did the right thing. I would really appreciate all of your comments and advice. And Thank You for reading!

I have dated my bf for 3.5 years. He is 42 and I am 31. We have a great loving relationship. He was always emotionally available for me, he was caring, funny, and we share many similar values and attitude about life. He would tell me that I was the best gf he has ever had, and his past 3-4 love relationships were dead-end. However, even though that we had this great relationship, he was still unable to propose to me after 3.5 years being together. We would discuss in great detail about our future and future family, but he just could not make a decision. Here are the challenges and major obstacles between us:

#1 - His mother. She gave him an ultimatum for over 1.5 year already: if we get married, she will disown him and stop contacting him. Why?
Because I am not Jewish. She also seems to have a warped perception of me being controlling and manipulating of him. I feel that my bf is a mama's boy.
*Btw, she divorced his father when my bf was 21. I feel that she thinks of my bf as a surrogate husband.
*My bf does stick up for me all the time when his mother tells him bad things about me. But, I think her neg. opinions of me still have some influence on him because his behavior toward me would sometimes change after arguments with his mother. Last year, when his mother showed signs of stress and anxiety from the arguments that they had about our relationship, he told me that he's going to stop arguing with his mom because he does not want to aggravate his mom.