It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2012, 08:43 AM   #1
(female)

krc229 HB User
Boss is a Bully, but I work in HR!!

Hi everyone, I could really use some advice.

I currently work as an assistant to the Director of HR (my boss). The only person above my boss is the Superintendent.

I have worked in this position for 6 months. I first noticed my boss' unethical behavior, occasionally-abusive tone, and chaotic management methods a few months in. I thought I could suck it up for a year and then leave. Boy, was I wrong.

A few weeks ago I started having nightmares about work, and I started having anxiety before work and especially on Sundays. The days when my boss was gone at conferences, I felt FINE, because I get along great with all my other coworkers and I could get my work done without being bullied. But once she returned, she made me feel so disrespected and stressed out that I started becoming tense and panicky whenever I heard her voice.

I am constantly stressed because my boss makes me do SO much (even duties that are on HER job description), but she never bothers to sit down with me and train me properly. Her version of proper training is barking orders at me in 5 minutes and then running off to a meeting. I can't learn well like that. On top of it, she makes small jabs at me when I make tiny mistakes. I understand being spoken to when I make BIG mistakes. But yesterday she stopped me as I was leaving the office to go home for the day to reprimand me for putting a 9 instead of a 2 on a form, when she could have easily corrected that mistake in 1/2 a second. Or, at least she could have waited until the next day to discuss it instead of stopping me in front of my coworkers as I was headed out the door.