It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2012, 06:24 PM   #1
(female)

Jcolwell HB User
Is marriage in our future or am I waisting time?

My boyfriend and I have been together for 2 years. I am 25 and he is 24. I graduated college several years ago and he is done in a few months. We have a great relationship. It really is effortless for us to make our relationship work. Whenever we talk about the future he always says that he doesn't know what is going to happen and can't provide a definite answer. I'm not one to nag so this conversation has really only come up twice in our entire relationship. Last time we talked, he said that hes not ready for marriage and is too young. He commented that he wouldn't be ready to settle down for 3 or 4 more years. I love this man with all of my heart and if it means waiting those few years for us to begin our lives as husband and wife I am willing to wait. He really is worth it. I get discouraged though when people say that if he actually wanted to marry me then he wouldn't want to wait that long. Also I have read so much advice from other women saying that the guys who set far away marriage deadlines are just stalling until the right woman comes along. I believe that a lot of his hesitation comes from wanting to have a stable career first. With his major and current job prospects the odds of him getting a job making a stable salary are very good. I am currently a history teacher and make decent money as well. Although I am a romantic I am also a realist. I don't want to reach the other side of thirty and realize he was never serious about marrying me. We do not live together and both feel that this is reserved for marriage. We are sexually active and spend many nights together but we both maintain separate apartments. Does anyone have any insight on if his desire to wait is sim