It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Restless Leg Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2009, 06:29 AM   #1
(female)

alaska3355 HB User
Sugar and RLS

Hi, I'm a newbie. Not to RLS, though. I've just noticed a link with RLS and sugar.....duh, you'd think I would have figured this out long ago. I'm cutting way down on sugar, especially in the P.M. hours, and it has really helped me. Any other people noticing this? I also avoid caffeine and alcohol. I currently take 1.5 mg. of Mirapex daily.

Old 12-05-2009, 05:55 AM   #2
(female)

alaska3355 HB User
Re: Sugar and RLS

Hasn't anyone else noticed the link with sugar? I am baking with xylitol now, and am feeling much better. I am also experimenting with agave nectar.....both are expensive but good. I made some xylitol brownies last night, and they weren't bad!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-07-2009, 08:24 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)

Hope2Heal HB User

yes for me no doubt there was a direct link, not just to sugar but carb foods.
I had the worst RLS symptoms of my life when I was pregnant, turns out I had gestational diabetes and high blood sugar levels.

I have been on a low carb diet for a year and half. I do not eat any sugar at all (splenda as a substitute) I have cut out lactose, fructose as well. I also lost significant weight when cutting out sugar but that is another story.

I feel better, NO RLS at all, and I don't catch colds and other seasonal things as easily now. My immune system has strengthened. I don't miss the restless nights or crawling out of my skin in the car or on a plane.

I don't think people (including myself in the past) realize how much we overload our system on sugar. I am not saying that some RLS may have other causes, but for some people it could be the sugar/carb link and may be worth investigating.

good luck

Old 12-08-2009, 05:43 AM   #4
(female)

alaska3355 HB User