It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Restless Leg Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2003, 07:54 PM   #1

tsw HB User
Post RLS and sugar

Hi. I discovered my RLS is directly related to how much sugar I eat. Even most carbohydrates bother me but for some reason eating a potato with my meals reduces the tingling and crawling in my legs tremendously. I'm just beginning to research and experiment so I can't explain why.

Old 04-25-2003, 05:50 AM   #2

Linda Hively HB User
I'd be real interested in finding out if that works. Sometimes ( most of the time) I am siting in my recliner watching t.v. at night and my husband is seeing me fidgeting. It's like I have to move my legs constantly it seems. I don't know if it's the Neuropathy or the restless legs but my feet are frozen. No matter if I put extra heavy socks on plus a blanket over my legs. Then when they get warmed up they drive me nuts with that crawling up my legs. Potatoes would sure be a lot better than feeling zonked with medication.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-25-2003, 02:57 PM   #3

tsw HB User
It works for me, without a doubt--At least for this past week . I think I have hypoglycemia (low blood sugar), which I read can cause RLS, and potatoes are supposed to help regulate blood sugar levels.
RLS runs in my family but for me it's only been a problem when I eat anything with carbohydrates-except for potatoes.
It's also worse in the evening. Do you notice any correlation between what you eat, or anything else, that could cause it? Do you have the same symptoms every night- or on a regular basis?

Old 04-25-2003, 07:49 PM   #4

Linda Hively HB User
tsw,