It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Rosacea Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2004, 01:05 AM   #1

dougt12 HB User
Clindamycin causing acne rosacea.. pls read

Hey this is my first time posting on this board, so I'd just like to say hi to everyone. I've been reading these boards for weeks, and have really found a lot of useful information, and have really enjoyed reading the boards.

I was just recently diagnosed with acne rosacea. I used to just have acne and have taken apo-tetra with tretinoin (aka retin-A or stieva-A) cream and that helped out a lot but dried up my skin and made it red. Then the doctor prescribed me apo-erythro with clindamycin (aka cleocin-T or dalacin T) which cleared up my skin pretty well until one day. All of a sudden my skin became really, really red and oily on my cheeks and I stopped using it.

Much of the redness went away but to this day my cheeks are still red and I still have partially oily skin. That was over a year ago that I stopped using the clindamycin. Since then my skin's been real sensitive and I can hardly wash with and cleansers even the mild ones without making my skin redder and oilier. I thought that I might have some sort of dermatitis maybe contact dermatitis, but the doctor said it was acne rosacea and prescribed me some topical and oral antibiotics.

I was just wondering if anyone has experienced anything similar to this. I would really appreciate any input from anybody who thinks they can help me, or that have any suggestions or who just have something to say. I want to try to heal my skin without the use of anymore medications, because that is why I am in this mess in the first place.