It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sarcoidosis Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2011, 07:48 PM   #1
(female)

pink blobs HB User
Hi, I'm new to sarcoidosis. What now?

Hi. I'm a 26 year old female and after almost a year of agony, I finally have a label for my disease--sarcoidosis, oh, and ankylosing spondilitis. I had been having strange symptoms since last spring, which included strange neurological disturbances, chest pain, facial redness, difficulty breathing and constant back pain and fatigue. Over the past few months I started getting what appeared to be red hot swollen knees, raynaud's phenomenon in my hands and feet, peripheral neuropathy and sharp chest pains.

Two weeks ago I went to the ER for severe chest pain, which radiated through my arm and neck. They didn't find anything and sent me home. They claimed my chest x-ray was "completely normal", however I found otu this was not really the case, because my doctor's nurse contacted me the next day confirming they had found a "shadow" in my x-ray. The following week I had a CT scan of my chest to see what was going on inside. My doctor was very cautious about telling me what she was suspecting. I found out through my psychiatrist who went through my medical files and found that I had unusually large lymph nodes in my chest. This puzzled me, I knew I had enlarged lymph nodes, but what did she think was the cause. I freaked out that I had lymphoma, but had been expecting that I had possible lupus for a long time.

She called me yesterday and said she reviewed my scan and found granuloma's in my chest(a fungal mass and lumps on my lymph nodes). She asked me if I had ever heard of a disease called sarcoidosis. My heart sunk as she uttered the word. Yes, I had heard of it. She asked me what I knew about it, but all I knew was that it was an inflammatory disease which attacks various organs in the body.