It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Schizophrenia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2005, 06:45 PM   #1
(male)

curiouslearner HB User
Possible To have Schizophrenia Without Hallucinations

Is it possible to have schizophrenia if you don't have the hallucinations and delusions?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-27-2005, 08:36 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

GatsbyLuvr1920 HB UserGatsbyLuvr1920 HB UserGatsbyLuvr1920 HB User
Re: Possible To have Schizophrenia Without Hallucinations

CuriousLearner, do you still think you have schizophrenia? I'm thinking that you don't. I'm not an expert on schizophrenia, but I think that the main diagnostic tool is hallucinations and/or delusions. In general, there must be some sort of bizarre behavior present, bizarre behavior that isn't exhibited in other illnesses like OCD, bipolar disorder, and panic disorder, that is. Also, another key factor is the loss of distinction between fantasy and reality. The only thing that you've told me so far that would fit under this category is our use of "imaginary characters," but I told you that my therapist said that this is normal for people with anxiety disorders. Perhaps you just have one of the personality disorders such as schizotypal? Maybe do some searching on that? Trust me, from the descriptions that you've told me, I'm still thinking OCD. Have there been any new symptoms that have led you to once again suspect schizophrenia? If so, what are they? Is this related to the Paxil withdrawal (which I responded to by the way) that you're currently experiencing? You seem to be like me with OCD: you've done sooo much research on it that you practically know every facet of the disorder! Write back soon!
-GatsbyLuvr1920-

Last edited by GatsbyLuvr1920; 07-27-2005 at 08:41 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-27-2005, 10:24 PM   #3
(male)

curiouslearner HB User