It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Schizophrenia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2007, 11:55 PM   #1
(female)

frankiefloris HB User
Smile drug induced psychosis or schizophrenia?

Hi I'm new to this so please excuse me if this has already been said..
I'll try to keep this short.

I am 26. In my late teens I had my first psychotic episode. Hallucinations, dellusions, hearing voices etc. I was using drugs at the time. I never went to see the doctor. I haven't taken drugs since but I still have dellusions and hallucinations. I feel like I'm in a dream all the time and like I have mental block. I can never find the right words like now as I am writing this.
My care worker thinks it is drug induced psychosis but my psychiatrist says I've got a paranoid illness. Do you think a drug induced psychosis can go on for 8 years after stopping drugs? I've also been diagnosed with clinical depression and anxiety disorder. There is no history in my family of mental illness and I have learned to function in daily life like keep a job, but I do get really paranoid and I can't see properly ( went to the opticians to check my eye sight but there is nothing wrong with my eyes )
What does anyone think about it?
Does anyone know what paranoid illness is? Is it paranoid schizophrenia. I'm very confused with it all. He has put me on abilfy but the side effects are awful so I've stopped taking it.

Any replies would be grately appreciated or it would be good to know anyone else's experiences.
Thanks.

The following 2 users give hugs of support to: frankiefloris
janhammond (12-31-2010), karenloves (04-21-2011)
Old 01-19-2007, 04:10 PM   #2
(male)

ozzmo HB User
Re: drug induced psychosis or schizophrenia?

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankiefloris View Post