It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Schizophrenia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2009, 07:58 AM   #1
(male)

koolguy HB User
What drug to treat extreme agitation, nervousness, compulsions

I get extremely nervous and agitated and really tense. I get compulsive thoughts like violent thoughts that disturb me very much. After a few hours all of this disappears.

Which drug helps for this? Thanks.

Old 12-31-2009, 08:26 AM   #2
(female)

cerajoan HB Usercerajoan HB User
Re: What drug to treat extreme agitation, nervousness, compulsions

I'm not a doctor but I don't think Invega is the right drug for those symptoms (but I'm not a doctor). Are you taking an antidepressant? Because it sounds like obsessive compulsive anxiety you having and sometimes antidepressants help very much with that. My mom had much like what you're describing and antidepressants helped her a lot.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-31-2009, 10:48 PM   #3
(male)

koolguy HB User

Given that I take invega and before it I did not experience this problem, I think this is definitely akathisia due to invega. Because the side effect is very serious, I think I should stop taking the drug.

Old 12-31-2009, 11:14 PM   #4
(male)

koolguy HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by cerajoan View Post
I'm not a doctor but I don't think Invega is the right drug for those symptoms (but I'm not a doctor). Are you taking an antidepressant? Because it sounds like obsessive compulsive anxiety you having and sometimes antidepressants help very much with that. My mom had much like what you're describing and antidepressants helped her a lot.
I don't think anti-depressants would work. I searched the net and it seems for instance Prozac causes akathisia.

Old 01-01-2010, 10:06 AM   #5
(female)