It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Self-injury Recovery Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2011, 01:26 PM   #1
(female)

ghelpmelivelife HB Userghelpmelivelife HB Userghelpmelivelife HB Userghelpmelivelife HB User
Want to stop

I have been cutting for over 20 years. (bad childhood) and though it seems to help in the moment i am upset, i want to stop. BAD!!!

Any advice?

Old 05-24-2011, 09:09 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

katlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB Userkatlin09 HB User
Re: Want to stop

Hi, I'm Kat and I too am a longtime cutter, 32 years, also had a bad childhood. I haven't cut since Dec. 15, 2009 for the most part. I've had maybe 4 or 5 slip ups since then, but from cutting daily that's a pretty good scorecard.

I stopped with the help of my Psychiatrist, Psychologist, DBT, ECT, and meds. I am also a chronic pain patient and BiPolar, so regulating my moods and feelings has never been easy. The only easy thing was having that form of release to get through it all. But when your 10 yr. old asks you why you have stitches all the time....it's kind of a major wake up call. I had a very rough patch of time in 2009, going through a separation after 22 yrs of marriage and my hubby moving in with his girlfriend...well in period of 4 months I did enough damage to have to get a total of 78 stitches over several instances.