It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Self-injury Recovery Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2011, 11:33 PM   #1
(female)

Taylor95 HB User
A relapse of sorts

Hi all. This is my first time ever posting on this board, and I'm looking for advice, and begging you all not to judge me.

So, I used to have a bad cutting problem. I have been hospitalized three times for cutting and/or suicide attempts, and eventually got help and started feeling a lot better with time and a concoction of different medications. Of course, as I had been hospitalized for it, my mother knew about my cutting.

But she also thinks I've stopped, and I had stopped for a very long time. Or at least, I hadn't done anything but maybe a few here and there for the longest time. But tonight I lost control, and couldn't help myself, and there's no way to hide them. I know I have to face my mother finding out, as it's about 109 degrees here during the day and there's no way I can wear long sleeves, or a bandaid, because she would find that way too obvious. I don't want my mom thinking I'm going downhill again, because I'm not. I merely had a slip up.

So basically, what it boils down to, is that I want to tell her myself before she notices. But what do I say? It's not an easy thing to tell someone, and I'm shy about talking to her as it is..

Old 08-01-2011, 07:26 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

trg247 HB Usertrg247 HB Usertrg247 HB User
Re: A relapse of sorts

Relapses or slips are a part of recovery. They do not matter. What does matter is realizing the behavior is not healthy and going back to a life without self harm. Basically falling off the horse and having the courage to get back on. Our loved ones are pained when they see self harm but they will support you especially if you are trying to get well
Generalized Anxiety Disorder

Current Meds
Pristiq
Cymbalta
Seroquel
Temazapam