It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sexual Health - Teens Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2006, 10:25 AM   #1
(male)

Adolescent HB User
Question about Oral Herpes

Alright, well here we go:

I'm new to all of these transmitted diseases that are possible between two people, from Sexually Transmitted Diseases to just plain 'cold sores'.

I have just found out my girlfriend has oral herpies, should I be extremely concerned?

I did some research and found out ~75% of youth in my age range have contracted oral herpies (I haven't contracted it, hence the fact I'm asking about it). She told me this as if it was no big deal, or I 'wasn't supposed to find out' but I really stressed the fact if I had had a spontaneous kiss with her I could have contracted it. What I'm asking is-- whats the proper measures to ensure I don't contract the disease, or is it just one of those diseases that you'll obtain through life and theres almost nothing you can do about it (i.e. chickenpox)

Not only that, but I've read a bit on how oral herpies can cause genital herpies (from oral sex) it seems there is not much I could do about this other than checking for symptoms beforehand correct?

I'm just a bit scared since I've never been with anyone that had a transmitting disease, so I'd like to know how to handle the situation.

Thanks,

Adolescent

Old 01-02-2007, 09:27 AM   #2
(male)

Adolescent HB User
Re: Question about Oral Herpes

.. any responses would be appreciated. =/

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-02-2007, 10:49 AM   #3
Veteran
(male)

srivera HB User

The only fool proof way to not contract oral herpes is to have no contact. Herpes can be spread even in the absence of visable sores.