It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Share Your Depression Story Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2013, 09:19 PM   #1
(female)

popsickletoes HB Userpopsickletoes HB User
New to loneliness

Hello,
I'm,a 60 ish female, married 43 yrs to my high school sweetheart. Doesn't sound like a typical story of lonliness does it?
Well, like I said, I'm new to this. My husband is a sweet man. However, at the end of my day he says hello and heads straight to the computer,yard,or guitar for hours.
My adventure into lonliness began with surgery that has kept me pretty much bed bound for six months. Hopefully this will end soon.
I thought I knew what lonliness was. I was a babe in the woods.
I never appreciated people like I do now.
There were dozens of promises before the surgery to take me to the mall, the movies, the moon. None of them transpired. Sometimes there would be an excuse. But mostly, I never heard from anyone again.
I got two cards, both of which dissolved me to tears. Even rare, occasional texts were treasures. Before I even looked forward to surgery. I don't make friends easily.
But, I soon learned its just something people say. Like, I'm fine, or how's the weather?
I sleep alone, can't explain, has to do with the surgery.
But, compared to a lot of people, my experience is relatively short, and I have learned so much.
I now know the value of a text, card or letter.
Most people don't want grandiose experiences. They just want contact with another human being.
Contact gives us validation as our worth in the world. I'm a religious person but now know our joy is horizontal as much as it is vertical.
When this is over for me I refuse to forget the experience.
I'm much more forgiving and loving. It beats counting ceiling tiles any day.
I'm joining a place of worship and becoming involved, once I can drive.