It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Share Your Pain Management Story Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2008, 02:27 PM   #1
(male)

renton HB User
renton's story

i used to be a pro/am skateboarder from 84 to 95, of course skating pools and vert. so when you fall your back always takes the brunt of the impact (tony hawk, among other pro's all have the same issues with back problems amongst problems related to knee's and ligaments). thus, i have always had major back problems. i just took ibuprofen and Tylenol everyday. as i got into my early 30's, taking ibuprofen and Tylenol was just not working anymore. i had zero insurance or a PM at that time, so i would use a walk-in clinic. i always complained about lower back, and sciatica on my left side leaving my big toe completely numb. i was always treated as it was a muscle spasm with a few vicodin and skelaxin.
i kept coming in till they told me i was a drug seeker in FRONT of everyone, and that i was not welcomed back. not once did they offer to xray my back. nor did they recommend some other clinic or doctor that specialized in pain/back problems.

in 2003 my pain increased to a level 10 when i picked up a speaker system (was wearing back brace at the time). i always pick up items the correct way as from working a job with light to medium lifting.

lucky enuff, my friend's dad is a PC/family doctor and she had him see my that afternoon. went in, and immediately took xrays. he then wrote a very small script for percocet 5, and said they would call me after my xray was read.

i was called later that nite saying i had multiple fracture in my L1, and it looked like i had previous fractures on the L3 as well.