It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Shoulder / Rotator Cuff Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2006, 12:45 AM   #1
(male)

kt411gcn HB User
Rotator cuff and shoulder problems

Hi there, I recently have been developing some shoulder and rotator cuff pains. I weight train for mass, doing 6-8 reps, and i've been lifting for about 2 years. I also play tennis.

The rotator cuff can be felt when im pulling my arm back to get ready for a forehand, or rotating my shoulders forward for a 1-handed back hand. The pain is bearable to be able to move through it, if you know what I mean. I also have a shoulder pain where it seems to be near the joint. I can feel iit when I lift my arm straight out to the side. The shoulder/rotator cuff probably existed before, but not enough so that I noticed. The pain started to happen when I first started working on my serve. When I first got it, I stopped weight lifting and tennis for about 3 days, and when I tested my shoulder by swiniging my racket around, I didn't feel anything, so I proceeded to work on my serve. The next day, my pains came back again.

So my questions are, how long should I rest my shoulder/rotator cuff before I resume lifting and tennis? What stretches are available for the rotator cuff and the area of the shoulder pain im having? What other different body parts should I stretch to assist my shoulders/cuffs?

And lastly, I think i've been doing the wrong form of military press these last 2 years. What I do is the normal press, where I lift in front of me. Anyway, my starting point is with the barbell across my chest, slightly below the collarbone. I press the weight straight up, so that at the top of the motion, the barbell is 1 or 2 inches in front of my head. Is this the correct movement?

One last thing: will massaging speed the healing process, and does it matter how much pressure is applied? Thanks.