It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Shoulder / Rotator Cuff Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2012, 03:17 AM   #1
(male)

purplemonster HB User
Question rotator and labrum surgery post op

I'm going in for surgey for a large slap tear and torn rotator cuff. People have told me post op is very painful. Can anyone tell me how painful and how long. My doctor already prescribed oxy for me.

Another person also told me to sleep in a recliner...

Any help I will appreciate it.

I'm a truck driver and my doctor told me 6-12 months to et back to work but highly unlikely as I lift heavy objects.

Purplemonster

Old 10-01-2012, 04:10 AM   #2
(female)

xilch HB Userxilch HB Userxilch HB Userxilch HB Userxilch HB Userxilch HB User
Re: rotator and labrum surgery post op

Hello Purplemonster --- I had rotator cuff surgery a year and a half ago -- and it sounds to me as if your doctor has already given you good directions and good help with oxy and being honest with the potential challenges ahead of you. For the first 12 hours you will feel fine, because the surgeon will most likely use a nerve block and you will be comfy as you get back home and settled. My surgeon was definitely right when he told me to begin the oxy BEFORE the nerve block ran out of its goodness. "Catching Pain" is no fun....... If you are still in high pain after taking an percocet (takes about 45 to 60 min to work), ask your doc if you can add another 'family' of meds to what you take. My doc allowed me to take ibuprofen WITH the percocet when the level of pain seemed to be near the nauseous level.
You'll have less pain if you can keep your arm in the sling, but balanced with lots and lots of pillows.
Recliner sleeping is great if you have a recliner.