It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Shoulder / Rotator Cuff Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2012, 05:27 PM   #1
(female)

Neptune227 HB User
Multiple shoulder surgeries

I am a physical therapist and --ironically enough-- I got injured on the job. I suffered a subluxation/dislocation. I couldn't tell which because it happened so fast and I immediately popped it back in. I got an MRI 2 months after the injury (gotta love workers comp) and it showed a healing contusion on the head of my humerus, as well as signs of neuropraxia. There was also tendonosis of my supraspintus but that's chronic and unrelated to the injury.

I had an ORIF to fuse my acromion in 2001. In 2002 I had a subacromial decompression in January and a distal clavicle resection in July when they also removed the hardware from the ORIF. Things were good until 2008 when I developed multidirectional instability and had to go for a capsular plication. Since then I have never actually had a "pain free" day but after that dislocation, I'm reeling! It's getting worse, even with therapy. I feel like a traitor to my profession!

The only pain medication that works for me is tramadol but I am concerned about long term use. My @$$hole dr also won't prescribe it because he thinks I'm either faking it or I'm a junkie... Nevertheless, I really just have some questions about my prognosis.

Is surgery number 5 looming around the corner? I'm going for an emg to see if there really is nerve damage. How long will that take to heal? Are there worthwhile herbal/nutritional supplements I can take for the pain? It's starting to make me depressed and anxious because I can't do my job. I can't even open a damn window without pain. Does anyone have any insight?

The following user gives a hug of support to Neptune227:
MountainReader (10-14-2012)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-21-2012, 07:06 AM   #2
(female)