It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sinus Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2004, 10:16 PM   #1
(male)

Jiminy_ND HB User
Exclamation Sinus Problems, nasal polyps, and allergies

Hi everybody - I am brand new to this and I guess I am here out of total frustration. I am looking for some general knowledge, advice, or just plain alternative practices that may keep me away from another surgery or a long-term prescription on Prednisone.

Couple of Facts:

1991-20 yrs old-First Nasal Surgery (septoplasty and polypectomy)
1999-28 yrs old-Second Nasal Surgery (septoplasty and severe polypectomy)
2001-29 yrs old-Third Nasal Surgery (severe polypectomy)
2004-32 yrs old-Fourth Nasal Surgery (moderate polypectomy)

As you can see, cronic sinus infections and the continual re-growth of nasal polyps have resulted in 3 surgeries since 9/99. Is this common among "us"? I have been on allegery shots since 2001 and take Nasonex (albeit not so regularly from 2002-2004 due to my poor prior judgement). As of my most recent surgery this past November, the Dr. has recommended routine (2-3 times per day) nasal irrigation which I use a SinusRinse pre-mixed product. He has also put me on a Prednisone prescription which will last for the next 3 weeks (I have actually been able to smell for the first time in 3 years...). There is current thought as to if he wants to keep me on a low dose (5 mgs per day) of prednisone going forward. However, I am quite nervous about this due to published side effects and my relatively young age. Therefore, I am looking for alternatives to fight this polyp and sinus problem.

In addition to allergies, some allergic asthma, polyps, and cronic sinus infections, I am one of those people allergic to aspirin and ASA's.... I think they call it Samter's Syndrome.