It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sinus Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2005, 06:10 PM   #1
(female)

berryqueen HB User
Question sinus congestion relieved by hot flash

Hello,
I am new to this message board. I found it in a search for this topic.
I am going through perimenopause right now. While I have a history of allergies, my symptoms have gotten alot worse since this perimenopause started. It's to the point where I can't breath through my nose at all. But the strangest thing is that when I get a hot flash, my sinuses clear. I can often tell when I am going to get a hot flash, because one or both of my nostrils opens up before I even feel the hot flash! I actually like getting hot flashes because they are less uncomfortable than this horrid congestion. It only lasts a little while but I get some relief for at least 5 minutes and often it is relieved for longer. My ENT says that this may be because when my estrogen drops and I have a hot flash that the same drop in hormones causes my sinuses to clear. My PCP MD says that it is a normal occurance since the vascular changes associated with hot flashes will shrink or dialate blood vessels in the same way that exercise or orgasm does. I am not making this up! It happens about 20-30 times a day right now. Is there anybody else out there that this happens to?

Old 11-01-2005, 03:23 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

ainfante HB Userainfante HB Userainfante HB User
Re: sinus congestion relieved by hot flash

Yeah my sinuses too girl! Not only allergies back but so is my Asthma. boy, i wish my hot flashes would clear up my sinuses.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-03-2005, 08:39 AM   #3
(female)

Brenda East HB User