It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sinus Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2011, 12:11 AM   #1
(female)

kristen7815 HB User
headaches after having sinus surgery

I am a fairly healthy female, 23 years old, minus my chronic sinus infections, colds, and fatigue so decided to get the same surgeries...septoplasty for a pretty badly deviated septum, turbinate reduction, ESS for chornic inflammation, tonsillectomy and adenoids. I am now 11 days post-op. I did previously have headaches which were tension headaches mainly when I was under a lot of stress (I am a student) but nothing like they are now!! I experienced my first migrane headache (light and sound sensitivity) as soon as I woke up from the anesthitic. I wanted to tell everyone to shut the **** up because it sounded like they were screaming and every word pounded in my head. The pain in my throat and nose was 1-2 whereas my head was a 10+ I was in tears from the pain and right away they gave me Ibuprofin 200mg tab, breaking the 2 golden rules after surgery; nothing solid or no NSAIDs (advil, aleve, excedrin, etc) The headaches vary on the pain scale, but are pretty much always there and are present right when I wake up. Anyways hydrocodone and acetaminophen do nothing and the best thing I do is just pile ice packs all around my head and sit in a dark, quiet room. Sometimes a good head/neck massage will knock out some of the pain too.

So I was just wondering if anyone has found out more about this?? I'm thinking it's either a. muscular; im sure they had our necks craned back at a weird angle for over an hour for the surgery b. nervous; where they burned off some of the nerve endings in our noses and now pain is referring to other areas in our heads??? c. still from chronic inflammation from the swelling of the surgery. ugh.