It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sjögren's Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2012, 09:11 AM   #1
(female)

gac62 HB User
New here

Sorry in advance for the long post. This is my first posting here, but I’ve been keeping track of my symptoms for about 6 years. Just a bit of background: I have Ulcerative Colitis (under control with Immune Suppressants), Diabetes (controlled with diet/exercise), Asthma (not really under control, just changed inhalers). I’ve had pneumonia three times in 26 months. I’m on both acid reflux meds and allergy meds. I’m told by both Pulmonology and Ear/Nose/Throat docs that this is all “a system” and one thing affects another, etc. and they don’t want to stop either even though I’ve never really had any acid reflux major symptoms or allergy symptoms like itchy water eyes or sneezing.
I have had an excessive thirst issue (could be the diabetes) and extremely dry eyes and sinus for many, many years. My primary doc agreed that my symptoms make sense and likely could be Sjorgrens. She has done the initial blood tests, etc. and they are negative. I’m reading that this is quite common. My insurance most likely won’t cover more extensive tests, but I’m not sure having a diagnoses will make much difference - the treatment plan would be the same – treat the symptoms. I have had tear duct plugs for many years already, use several types of eye drops, ointments, and also nasal gel, spray and 2X/daily sinus rinse. Have had joint issues for many years, and this year I’ve also started having issues with tingling lower legs and burning feet which wake me up at night. There is more, but that’s the gist of it.