It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sleep Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2008, 08:30 AM   #1
(female)

karlaondracek37 HB User
why am I having night sweats

Hi. I am 37 and have been having horrible night sweats for about a year....they were happening about once or twice every two weeks.... In the last couple months, they have gotten significantly worse. I am having them at least three times a week. I went off the pill two years ago and noticed that my periods are much worse. I just had a complete blood profile and everything looked great. I am a fitness instructor and feel like I am very concious of my diet. I, too, am tired of getting up and interupting my sleep to change my clothes. And, I too, do this many times, more than once a night. I sleep in a cool room in only my underwear to try to keep cool and that isn't helping either. Any ideas?

Old 01-30-2008, 09:07 AM   #2
(male)

beach8411 HB User
Re: why am I having night sweats

are you taking any antidepressants or other medications?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-30-2008, 09:15 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

mkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB User

Get a complete thyroid panel run with a TSI and TPOAb antibody check. It sounds a lot like your thyroid. Normal range does not mean optimal function or even normal for you.

Your TSH ~1
FT3 and FT4 should be between 50-80% lower and you are looking hypothyroid, higher and you are looking hyperthyroid.
TPOAb 95% positive identifier of Hashimoto's thyroiditis
TSI 75-80 % positive identifier of Graves Disease