It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2005, 10:11 PM   #1
(female)

rainswirls HB User
Lightbulb I really want to quit!! help?

Ive been smoking for about 7 years. I dont like smoking and would very much like to quit but Im scared I wont be able to get through It. plus I live with my mom and my aunt who both smoke ...alot!!Being around 2nd hand smoke wouldnt do me any good from quitting. I dont know what to do....but I know I wanna quit.Any suggestions?

Old 01-25-2005, 11:57 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

Tobias HB User
Re: I really want to quit!! help?

If you're serious about wanting to quit, then by all means do it. Ask your housemates to not smoke in the house. Or at least make an area of the house a smoke-free zone. But don't let their smoking status determine yours. Quitting your own smoking despite the second-hand smoke that you live with is better for you than continuing to smoke in addition to the second hand smoke. It's not perfect but it's better.

When you stop smoking, you will become acutely aware of the stench that permeates every fiber of your house, from the walls, drapes, clothing, brown film on everything from the light bulbs to the TV screen. And with 3 active smokers, it's probably pretty bad. Have your housemates help you clean the place up and maybe they'll get motivated to stop also.