It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2006, 08:45 PM   #1
(female)

zashel HB User
Question how does wellbutrin/zyban work

I have been smoking since I was 20 yrs old and my mother use to say out her 5 kids she thougth I was the one less likely to smoke. And now 20 years later I'm still doing it. But 2 weeks ago at my doctors appointment for yet another sinus infection (my 3rd this year) she suggest that I quit and actually she asked me if I have ever considered quiting cause she would write me a rx for wellbutrin to help with quitting but only if I was ready. Now I have went to other doctors and I always feel like I'm in the principles office and I;m a small child. I think she did the right approch with me cause I'm trying cause I have always had the thought in the back of my head that this is too hard why try. The last time I tried to quit my mother was in the hospital in the end stages of Copd. I watched her die on a ventalater at the age of 65. You would think that it would of made it easier to quit, but it was the wrong time. So I let myself heal and now i feel ready to give this a real try this time and I have to say that I feel the wellbutrin helps but I'm not sure why and what it suppose to do and help with. I tried zyban about 2 1/2 years ago but could not take it cause it made me very distant feeling like people would talk to me and I had a delay in answering them so since I worked in a call center for a insurance company I had to stop taking them. This time I don't feel the same still spacey but my abilty to speak is fine. But this time around I'm also on lexapro and I don't know if that is why it really has not bothered me too much and I'm only on day two but this day was always my give up day. I'm also using inhalers which I much prefer to the patches cause I feel I have more control over it and