It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2007, 05:20 AM   #1
(female)

tigerlilyx61 HB User
Friend bit my head off

OK I want to vent so bare with me. I am a reformed smoker. Just passed my 17 year mark. Like many of you I never thought I would be able to do it and to this day I chalk it up to being one of the hardest things I have EVER done in my life, if not the hardest. I am a student at my local CC and have become fairly good friends with this one girl who is currently trying to quit using chantrix. At class last night I overheard her saying she did not have the money to get her script filled so she was going to do w/o. And then the subject turned to stress and how smoking is a good stress reliever. To make a long story short I tried suggesting, nicely, that perhaps she could exercise to help relieve stress. She bit my head off. She did apologize after class and I am totally over that but part of me is frustrated/angry that people who smoke don't want to see the truth. I just want to shake her and say , "It's a mind game. You can't use cigarettes to help reduce stress if you are trying to quit! Duh. There is always going to be stress in your life." If you TRULY want to quit you will...because you, yourself, have the power to make that decision. I know I know. I shouldn't be so hard on her. I do give her credit for at least trying. I know it took me several attempts before I was successful. But my gripe is she doesn't want to hear the truth and then tries to turn it around on me. And I am serious when I say I said it nicely. Obviously or she wouldn't have apologized. I just feel sooo strongly about this. How does everyone on this board deal with well-meaning people? Are you accepting of the truth or do you get defensive like my friend did?

Last edited by Mod-S4; 03-09-2007 at 08:07 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb