It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2007, 06:42 AM   #1
(male)

shyoneforty HB User
New to Boards - A big THANK YOU to all

Hi I am on day 45. I would say that at least 20% of that time the inspiration to keep going has been from reading all of your threads, so a massive thank you to you all. There is such a sense of comarardary (not sure if thats spelt correctly) on this site, it is great to know that I am not on my own.
I have been smoking for nearly 34 years and I started when I was 12, pretty bad eh! The longest I had ever quit for as a serious smoker, before was 57 hours. I still can't believe it. I am on the patches but, I am also getting some brilliant support from the local nurse at the surgery. Three weeks into quitting I felt incredilbly breathless and developed aweful cold/ fle type symptoms. I was x-rayed and blood tested and fortunately all was clear.
Apparently smoking had helped to open my airways and where I had stopped the bronchioles had closed up a bit, with the combination of the tar trying to get it was no wonder I couldn't breathe properly. As a result I started looking on the Internet to see if anyone else had suffered and found you guys. Fortunately the breathing is better now and although I still feel tired and sometimes still irritable , the breathing is better. I still get some fairly big cravings though and when I do I normally come here. Any way, enough rambling, just a huge thank you to you all especially to meemaw who seems to be an inspiration and saviour to us all. Take care and talk soon.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-09-2007, 06:45 AM   #2
(female)

mangojunky HB User
Re: New to Boards - A big THANK YOU to all

Hi Shyone,