It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2007, 11:45 AM   #1
(male)

Loscalso HB User
Just started...

Hi Everyone

I work in the pharmacutical field and heard about Chantix. Got the prescriptions filled about 2 weeks ago. I held off of taking them until this morning. I am ready.. FINALLY! I have tried everything under the sun to stop smoking...nothing ever worked. Hopefully this will..
I worry however that I will continue to smoke. I mean my doctor say's it's normal to smoke while taking it. And as of today I still have the cravings. Is that normal? When will the desires stop.. Wondeing if this is another waste of money.

Any help would be appreicated

Good luck to you all and good luck to me

Loscalso

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-02-2007, 12:07 PM   #2
(female)

Skimmer HB User
Re: Just started...

Welcome Loscalso!! So glad you could join us......yes you will want to keep smoking the first 6 or 7 days while taking the Chantix, that way it builds up in your system. Towards the end of that first pack, the cigs will probably start tasting a little funny, and you will not get the "good feeling" from them anymore. You will need to set your quit date shortly thereafter. For many of us, it was just putting them down and not having another one. For others, it was a little harder. Start making a mental note about why you're smoking, when you're smoking, and how many you're smoking and think twice about having them, do you REALLY need one, or is it just habit??

There is tons of support on these message boards, so ask away any questions or problems or side effects you might be having, and I can guarantee someone will answer you.

Good luck in your quit and welcome again to the QUITTER's CLUB!!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-02-2007, 12:27 PM   #3
(male)

Loscalso HB User