It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2007, 12:17 AM   #1
(female)

FLOYD03 HB User
Unhappy Now What! I Failed

Hi all

This is my first time posting and I hope you can be of help to me. I have been using the patch and completed the first step and went on to the 2nd (14mg) and was doing "o.k." up until yesterday when I smoked. I WENT SO LONG and feel like a total failure. I want to "get back on the wagon" but I don't know what to do! I was so depressed on step 2 and was having a really hard time. Should I have waited a bit longer and continued on Step One for a bit longer? Honestly, I don't want to start over and want this just to be a "slip" but I need help!!!

Thank you for any help you could be to me.

K

Old 04-05-2007, 03:36 AM   #2
(female)

mangojunky HB User
Re: Now What! I Failed

Hi K,
Congrats on your decision to quit! Don't beat yourself up - lots of people slip up, but that doesn't mean they won't be successful. Were you on step one for a month? Reducing the level of nicotine is a change for your body. I would talk to your doctor or a pharmacist to see if maybe you should get some losenges, or gum to have handy. Think about all the reasons you decided to quit smoking and how well you have done. Figure out coping skills - what will you do the next time you want a cig? Start exercising. Indulge in small amounts of chocolate - these will help you feel better.
Take care and keep us posted,
deb

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-05-2007, 10:44 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

marian100 HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLOYD03 View Post

Hi all