It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2007, 05:49 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

bevann26 HB Userbevann26 HB Userbevann26 HB User
starting chantix this week

i have been smoking for 45 yrs. longest quit was 2x at 4 mos. each. i am a 2 pk a day smoker, also, hubby smokes. we are both starting on chantix 5/18. we have both used every stop smoking aid there is, also cold turkey.
i need encouragement right now. already getting nervous about quitting. what does chantix do for you to have great results on it? is it different from anything i have tried in the past?
also, doc only gave us 2 mos. worth and said it should be plenty. has anyone had to take it for more than 2 mos?
all the info and support i can get is greatly appreciated.

thanks, bev

Last edited by Administrator; 05-18-2007 at 11:09 PM.

Old 05-13-2007, 08:18 AM   #2
(male)

Jack45 HB User
Re: starting chantix this week

I am 7 weeks into the Chantex treatment (42 days quit). I Quit on April 1. I am pleased with Chantix so far. I still want a cigarette real bad most of the time but i don't just "have" to have one.

The first day was the hardest one. I slipped up and didn't get through my first 24 hours until 4 days after I should have. I now use the reasoning that I don't want to have to go through that first day again to help me put a smoke off.

Chantix blocks the cigatrette pleasure centers so I know that if I do smoke, I won't enjoy it very much.

Last edited by Jack45; 05-14-2007 at 05:29 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-14-2007, 05:31 AM   #3
Inactive
(female)

Noni33 HB User