It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2007, 06:12 PM   #1
(female)

sarmee HB User
chantix

I was wondering if anyone could tell me a little about this pill Chantix. I went to the doctor and he prescribed it for me to stop smoking. I havent started taking it yet because I need to set a stop date first and I am going to wait til after my wedding in one week. I also wanted to find out more about it though. My doc says it works miracles. I tried to quit smoking about 3 months ago and I stopped for one month cold turkey. I hope this helps.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-24-2007, 09:09 PM   #2
(female)

country_fan HB User
Re: chantix

Hi there Sarmee,
Congratz on decideing to quit!

I'm no expert, but I will tell you about my short experience, thus far, with Chantix. I am on day 5 of the prescription & I really think this is a miracle drug. I've been smoking for about 9 years now, anywhere from 1 pack up to 2 packs a day. In the past I had quit coold turkey & that had lasted for about 3 months.

When I quit the cold turkey way, I was very very moody, on edge, and need I say a tad b*tchy for at least 2 weeks. Non-stop dreams about smoking, constant cravings. I hated driving places because thats when I smoke the most. I felt like I was always (as they say) "feening" for a cig.

You say your wedding is 1 week away & that is when you want to quit? I say go get the prescription now - they actually advise you start the program 1 week prior to your quit date. Reason being, you want to slowly introduce the drug into your system, which will reduce possible side effects. It's perfectly fine to continue smoking your first week on the drug (the starter pack).