It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2007, 05:39 AM   #1
(female)

StaceyDom1 HB User
Chantix Advice - smoking even more?

Hi all. Just started taking Chantix yesterday. I've tried all the other methods and nothing has worked for me. So far, I have been smoking MORE than usual. Did this happen to anyone else in the beginning? At this point I'm assuming the increase is more psychological than due to the medication. It's almost like I am daring the medication to not be able to work.

Can anyone else share their experience with me? I am afraid that even though I have so many reasons why I want to quit, I won't be able to do so. I've tried so many times before and was unable to do so for longer than a few months. I am a nursing student and know first-hand exactly what cigarettes do to people, and I feel like a total idiot for not feeling able to kick this nasty habit.

Old 08-29-2007, 06:56 AM   #2
(male)

tomjayc HB User
Re: Chantix Advice - smoking even more?

I was doing the exact same thing. Maybe I was smoking more because I knew that I was going to be quiting soon. I kept smoking for days thinking this stuff wasn't working and then all of a sudden, the smokes tasted like crap. For a few more days after they were tasting bad I kept trying to smoke only to find out that I was getting nothing from them "the high" and they still tasted bad.

Good luck to you. You can do it!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-29-2007, 09:16 AM   #3
(female)

StaceyDom1 HB User

Thank you TomJay. I'm going to try to stay hopeful and we'll see how it goes. I'll let you know.

Old 08-29-2007, 10:09 AM   #4
(female)

mrsb02 HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by StaceyDom1 View Post