It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2007, 03:37 PM   #1
(female)

kimmi1970 HB User
Hello

Hi everyone. I'm new to this board, just found it about 20 minutes ago with a ****** search and started reading some of the posts. What got me interested was some of the topics regarding Chantix. I have been considering this method for about 6 months now. My hygenist at the dentist office first brought it up to me. Since then I've been doing some research and haven't actually been to speak with my doc personally. I have been smoking for ...I'm ashamed to say....22 years : ( I have quit 3 times, but something always pulled me back. I have tried cold turkey, the patch, and Wellbutrin...none of which have worked. I have two young children, the oldest of whom would love to see me quit. Just wanted to introduce myself as I think I have found a place to come for education and support.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-14-2007, 05:14 PM   #2
(female)

jenn_516 HB User
Re: Hello

Hi Kimmie,

I am fairly new to this website myself. Well, sounds like you have tried everything else in the book to try and quit smoking, so why not try the Chantix. It is worth a shot! I have been on it for 5 days now and it is working. You can still smoke during the first week you are on it, which is good because I still need a smoke now and again. I find that I am smoking less and less though. I even went for a whole day without smoking. It is a pretty cool drug. I am trying to quit for my kids too. You would think just by them saying "mommy please quit" would be enough motivation, but it is hard. Of course my girls are young and don't understand the concept of addiction. Anyways, so far I have had mild side effects to it. Had some nausea, trouble sleeping, and some weird dreams.

So, I say go for it...what have you got to lose? Good Luck!