It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2008, 10:47 AM   #1
(female)

Jules211 HB User
3rd time's a charm!

Hi everyone, I am not new to HealthBoards but I am new to this particular forum... I am 26 years old (going on 27) and have been a smoker for the better part of the last 12 years. I have quit twice before- once when I was 21 using the patch (and immediately after quitting found out I was pregnant so I had extra incentive not to pick it back up)- I stayed quit for 13 months that time until the first night my husband and I had a date without the newborn and went to a bar... my husband has been a heavy smoker for 16+ years and has never quit, and sitting with him at the bar made me crave a cigarette...

The second time was a few years ago using Wellbutrin, but it didn't stick- I quit for 2 months and then for nearly a year after I would smoke just 1-2 cigarettes only in the evening after work (talk about torture!) thinking that was at least better than going back to smoking all day.

I'm currently taking Chantix... I just started the full dose this morning and I guess I'm looking for some support and encouragement throughout this process. My biggest challenge is that my husband is not quitting (yet- he wanted to make sure Chantix didn't have extreme side effects as we have a 5 year old son and don't want to put him in any risk). He promises he'll be quitting soon, but in the meantime I have to quit while he still smokes (and he smokes ALOT). The other challenges are the usual- adjusting to more free time and breaking the habit, finding other ways to deal with stress, etc.

Just wanted to say hi and hopefully find a place where I can post and talk to others before/on/after my big quit date!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-16-2008, 11:27 AM   #2
(female)

nomoresmokin' HB User
Re: 3rd time's a charm!