It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2008, 05:54 PM   #1
(female)

Stacey43 HB User
Has anyone weaned themselves off cigarettes?

This is my first time on this board. I am 43 and have smoked for 28 years. I smoked anywhere from a 1-1 1/2 packs a day, until recently. I have tried to quit smoking in the past and as soon as I put out my last cigarette I would panic. All I could think about was that I didn't have any more and how much I needed one, even though I had just put one out. Obviously cold turkey isn't for me.

I have to quit now, my health depends on it. I was recently diagnosed with moderate emphysema. When my shortness of breath started I thought I was just out of shape and getting older. Even though I have been diagnosed with COPD, I am still smoking because I know I can't just quit.

I started by cutting down, I have an empty pack that I put 12 cigarettes in first thing in the morning. That is what I will allow myself for the day. I may leave one and the next morning I will only put in 11 cigarettes. I thought if I do that for a week then the next will I take out 1 or 2 and so on until I hopefully stop.

Has anyone tried it this way? Does it help? Am I just fooling myself? I have a Chronic life long disease, one would think that would be enough to put down cigarettes all together.