It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2008, 09:38 AM   #1
(male)

jackie_sean HB User
the 4th day and 1/2 + some notes

It all started with infection in the nose and sinuses followed by sore throats and finally caughing. Since the sore throats, just couldn't smoke anymore, it makes me sick, and it's been the 4th day with no craving and no cigarette.

I am scared of the day when my flu/cold will be gone and I am scared that by the time when I feel better I will start smoking again.
I've been smoking for almost 15 yrs now - unbelievable when doing this calculation - probably half a pack a day, I would say I am an avarage smoker but I wish from all my heart to quit this stupid habit.

For these days with no smoke at all, I feel so dizzy, so tired ... btw, since no cigarettes I had no caffe either.

Something is wrong, it shouldn't be only me fighting my own battle against smoking, it should be more support out there. Sometimes ago I had also tried quit smoking and calling one of the QuitSmoking Hot Line, it was so funny, I got a "your call is important to us" and right after another automated message telling me that they are only open between 9 - 4 pm and it was 5 pm when I call. Conclusion maybe is one should quit smoking only between 9-4.
Asking my family doc what should I do to quit he only told me that all I need is the determination.

I think all these is BS, I am sick of people pointing at smokers like monsters and doing actually nothing to help us. All these laws banning smoking from everywhere started being more a form of bugging the smokers, instead of being effective and supportive - overall governments do rely in our money spent on the stupid smoke.

In the end I will continue as much as I can my own fight against this bad habit and ... how I wish !!! ... to never smoke again.