It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2000, 03:40 PM   #1

Pushbar11 HB User
Unhappy HELP

I an in need of any suggestion to help me stop smoking. With out the aide of those patches or gum. I am on other medication that those would interfere with. I have been smoking for over 30 years. And I need all the help I can get. Any suggestions?
Thanks
Maureen

Old 11-11-2000, 06:10 PM   #2
Inactive

Lori HB User
Thumbs up

Hi! I just quit smoking for good 2 weeks ago and am doing better than ever. I just quit cold turkey,with no medication or anything except my willpower,so it can be done You may want to cut down,it depends what works for you because everyone is different. But here is a web site that's really informative and should help you tons. [url="http://www.cyberdiet.com/modules/gi/maintain/problems/quit.html"]http://www.cyberdiet.com/modules/gi/maintain/problems/quit.html[/url] One thing that I did,though,was put Post-it notes all over the house with a different reminder on each one on why I am quitting. Ive also been saving my money that I havent been spending on cigarettes and getting something nice to treat myself. Try to stay really busy and have sugarless gum or a healthy(crunchy) snack around to keep your hands busy. Also stay away from other smokers as much as you can. The web site above will help you out more,if you dont find enough information on that site,do a search on the internet and you will find a lot more information. Good luck!!! This is the best thing you are doing for your health! Remember that one half of all smokers die as a result of smoking, scary but powerfull and true. Also remember that the first week is the hardest,you can make it through then you are over the worst. Its a hard road but can be done. Keep us updated if you can! Good luck!=)

Sponsors Lightbulb