It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Smoking Cessation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2001, 04:22 PM   #1
Inactive

ruffeo HB User
Question cold turkey or gradual?

Is it easier to quit smoking cigs cold turkey or taking the gradual approach by lowering your cigs per day? I've talked to some friends who have successfully quit smoking and a majority of them have told me that they went cold turkey in order to quit.

I have been smoking for about 2 years. I think it's a mixture of my hereditary genes and of course the nicotine that causes me to be so trapped and enveloped by smoking cigs.

I recently have tried going the gradual route but I failed. I smoke about 10 cigs on a normal day and about 20- one pack of cigs on the days I decide to go partying, which is about 2 times out of the week. I told myself this was the year I will get the ultimate birthday gift, my real life back. My birthday is on the 22nd of Feb.

It's time to be healthy.
Any advice towards my question would be greatly appritiated. Thanks in advance.

Old 02-05-2001, 11:51 PM   #2
Inactive

Lori HB User
Thumbs up

Hi there Ruffeo,
Good for you that you want to quit!
Well, first of all Im sure that you realize that everyone is different and the method they use to quit totally depends on what works for YOU. Since you already tried the gradual approach and it didnt turn out well for you could mean that it didnt work for you THAT TIME or maybe you could go about it a different way? OR it could mean that that just isnt what works for you and maybe cold turkey is the way to go. Have you tried aids like the patch, gum, etc? Those help lots of people also.